Share this page

Executive Team

Professor Andrew Sherry was appointed as NNL’s Chief Scientist in January 2015, joining NNL from The University of Manchester where he was Director of the Dalton Nuclear Institute. Previously he was Director of the University’s Materials Performance Centre, held a Royal Society Industry Fellowship, and was a Senior Consultant in the nuclear industry working within the field of materials and structural integrity.

Andrew led the establishment of the flagship Dalton Cumbrian Facility, a partnership with the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority to create a centre of excellence in radiation science and engineering decommissioning research, and led the collaboration with Sheffield University to create the Nuclear Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre. He was also Programme Director for the £8 million “New Nuclear Manufacturing” research programme funded by the Engineering and Physical Research Council, the Universities of Manchester and Sheffield and Rolls-Royce.

Andrew is a member of both the UK Nuclear Industry Council and a member of the UK Nuclear Innovation Research Advisory Board. He provides independent advice on strategic and technical aspects of nuclear power and has advised international nuclear bodies including CEA, INL and the Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute.